Five Blue Demons named to News Messenger All-County/All-City team

This year’s News Messenger All-County/All-City football team is dominated by the 3A State Champion Blacksburg Bruins. Cole Beck was named offensive player of year, Brad Shelton defensive player of year and Thad Wells, coach of the year.

Christiansburg has five players named to this year’s team along with four from Auburn, six from Radford and four from Eastern Montgomery.

The team included:

Offensive linemen: Edward Luviano (Eastern Montgomery), Brett Armentrout (Radford), Quinton Clayborne (Christiansburg), Ryan McFee (Christiansburg) and Hunter Perkins (Auburn).

Wide receivers included: Aaric Huff (Auburn), Aaron Felty (Eastern Montgomery), Tiquest Terry (Blacksburg) and Alex Perkins (Christiansburg).

The runningbacks were: Cole Beck (Blacksburg), Noah Martin (Auburn) and Will Justus (Blacksburg).

Quarterback was Grant Johnston (Blacksburg), and kicker was Camden Wise (Blacksburg). The kick returner was Alec Henderson of Christiansburg, and Tiquest Terry (Blacksburg) was the punt returner.

The offensive specialist was D.J. Baylor of Radford.

The defense stacked up like this:

Defensive line: Brad Shelton (Blacksburg), Dylan Moore (Christiansburg), Jake Garren (Eastern Montgomery) and Chase Orndorff (Blacksburg).

The linebackers were: Josh Van Gilder (Blacksburg), Armentrout, Alec Henderson (Christiansburg) and Trevor Brown (Eastern Montgomery).

Defensive backs included: Cameron Chestnut (Auburn), Charles LeFew (Radford), Jordan Shockley (Blacksburg) and Tiquest Terry (Blacksburg).

The defensive specialist was Drew Babcock (Blacksburg).

Players to watch next season include Babcock who is sophomore and was second on the team with 102 tackles this season for Blacksburg. At 6-1, 180, Babcock should grow into his position at linebacker and play a key role for the Bruins next year.

Others to watch include sophomores, Cole Epperley (Blacksburg), Trace Shepherd (Radford), Carter Brockman (Auburn), Devin Owens (Eastern Montgomery) and Curtis Tice (Christiansburg), along with freshmen, Curtis Robinson (Christiansburg) and Justice Marshall (Radford).

more recommended stories