13th annual police officers’ memorial ceremony is May 22

On Monday May 22, 2017 at 5 p.m., the Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office will host the 13th Annual Fallen Officers’ Memorial Ceremony at the Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office at 1 East Main Street in Christiansburg.

Weather permitting it will be held outside in the Memorial Plaza. We will be honoring those officers who lost their lives and were injured during 2016 and remembering those from Montgomery County who have also paid the ultimate sacrifice: Officer Terry Griffith, Officer Scott Hylton, Corporal Eric Sutphin, & Officer Deriek Crouse. The public is invited.

In 2016, 144 law enforcement officers were killed in the line of duty nation-wide, and to date this year, 44 officers have died. This event is being held in conjunction with National Police Officer Memorial Week, May 14-20, 2017.

In 1962, President John F. Kennedy designated May 15 as National Peace Officers Memorial Day, and the calendar week in which May 15 falls as National Police Week.

(Information and statistics courtesy of the National Law Enforcement Officer’s Memorial Fund website – www.nleomf.org and the Officer Down Memorial Page – www.odmp.org ).

— Submitted by Captain Brian Wright, Montgomery County Sherriff’s Office

more recommended stories