Thirty-seven NRCC nursing students receive degrees and pins in 13th annual graduation ceremony

Thirty-seven students in the 2017 associate degree nursing (ADN) class at New River Community College received their NRCC nursing pins and their associate degrees at a ceremony at the college May 10.

This is the thirteenth graduating class of associate degree nurses at NRCC. The graduates are now eligible to take their registered nurse licensing exam.

Dr. Lorrie Coe-Meade, nursing program director, presided at the event.

Christine Ludwig, chief nursing officer at LewisGale Hospital Pulaski was the keynote speaker.

Other nursing faculty participating in the ceremony were: Kelly Brown, Mia Copeland, Robin Troxel and Amy Watson.

NRCC’s interim president, Dr. Charlie White conferred the degrees. Others participating in the graduation and pinning ceremony were Dr. Pat Huber, vice president for instruction and student services, and Dr. Mark Rowh, vice president for workforce development and external relations.

Ending the program, the Rev. Andrew Taylor-Troutman led a Blessing of the Hands ceremony with nursing faculty and students to bring “healing and wholeness” to the nurse’s touch.

The 2017 graduating class of associate degree nurses at NRCC include:

Chelsea G. Blevins, Dublin; Stephanie Leshay Brock, Hiwassee; Michelle Sabo Bush, Dublin; Colby Matthew Byrd, Radford; Mendy Leigh Caldwell, Blacksburg; Taylor Lane Canterbury, Narrows; Victoria Leigh DeVilbiss, Radford; Christy Wurzburger Dishon, Christiansburg; Jessica Breann Dowdy, Dublin; Claire Angela Edmonds, Blacksburg; Mariana Schreiner Foster, Blacksburg; Keristan Lee Gallagher, Blacksburg; Carla Gaviola, Christiansburg; Brittny Morgan Webb Honaker, Bluefield, W.Va.; Natalie Marie Jefferis, Blacksburg; Lora Diane Johnson, Radford; Patrick Logan Joyce, Radford; Melody Dawn Justice, Austinville; Cynthia Beth Kantsios, Narrows; Sheri Renee Jennings Kosgei, Blacksburg; Katherine Marie Lauinger, Narrows; Jenna Alyce Martin, Pulaski; Natalie Cecile Morris, Blacksburg; Anna Ovcharova Penland, Christiansburg; Samantha Ann Perry, Blacksburg; Camille Lisanne Puckett, Blacksburg; Elaine Amber Redcay, Fairlawn; Stephani Michelle Richards, Hiwassee; Stephanie Renee Robertson, Pearisburg; Bradley Austin Sarver, Radford; Morgan Alexis Scarberry, Christiansburg; Heaven Leigh Thomas, Radford; Rebecca K. Thomas, Dublin; Emily Danielle Thornton, Radford; Skylar Ashton Tienvieri, Christiansburg; Hollie Elizabeth Vinkemulder, Christiansburg; Aaron Seth Wiley, Radford; and Sarah Ann Wright, Blacksburg.

— Submitted by Kelly Kaiser

more recommended stories